Archive for June 21st, 2007

I Resemble That!

June 21, 2007

In the news:

LONDON (AFP) – “Blog”, “netiquette”, “cookie” and “wiki” have been voted among the most irritating words spawned by the Internet, according to the results of a poll published Thursday.

Topping the list of words most likely to make web users “wince, shudder or want to bang your head on the keyboard” was folksonomy, a term for a web classification system.

“Blogosphere”, the collective name for blogs or online journals, was second; “blog” itself was third; “netiquette”, or Internet etiquette, came fourth and “blook”, a book based on a blog, was fifth.

I’ve never even heard of folksonomy and I wouldn’t know one if it bit me on the ankle.

Must be a British thing.

I suppose if I were politically correct, or willing to pander to the self-appointed intelligentsia, I would be tearing my hair out in a frenzy of self-hatred at my audacity in keeping a (gasp) blog.

. . . .

BLOG! BLOG! BLOG!

And furthermore…

THBBBBBT!

I am a proud member of the BLOGOSPHERE and I will shout it from the –er, top of my page!

Nyah! Nyah! Nyah! So there! Take that and stuff it up your folksonomy, you pinky-toe-hats!

There Really Is A Generation Gap

June 21, 2007

Not long ago, a couple of co-workers and I were swapping girl-talk stories. (Those of you who are girls, of any age, will understand just what kind of stories.)

My story concerned the last day of a family camping trip the summer I was twelve. Let’s just say my mother had to dig some emergency supplies out of her suitcase for me, and we had to go to a store to buy safety pins.

This was where a younger co-worker jumped in. “Safety pins? What on earth for?” She just about flipped out when I told her it was because I didn’t own an elastic belt with little clamps in strategic places. I’m still not sure she entirely believed me. I suggested she ask her own mother, who is older than I am, so she would certainly know about the elastic and/or safety pins.

I told her this was back in the dark ages, in the days before there was such a thing as double-sided stick-um. This was also back in the days when “unmarried girls” were discouraged from using the other kinds of supplies. The kinds that don’t require safety pins or stick-um.

Yep. There really is a generation gap.