Archive for August 26th, 2007

Yep. Expensive Week.

August 26, 2007

Took the car in at 8:15 this morning and sat down in the waiting room, expecting about a 90-minute wait.

I should have known.

The service manager came in and said my transmission gasket is leaking a little, so they need to replace it. That’s a warranty repair. However… (isn’t there always a “however”?) my tires are wearing unevenly which means I need all four wheels balanced.

They issued me a loaner car and I headed home.

I should have quit right there. But no; I just had to go over to the mall to pick up a clock battery at Radio Shack and (here’s where I got in trouble) a larger Critter Keeper for The Spook at Petco.

Remember that business about me and pet stores and adult supervision? Right. I forgot too. And now there are four:

Until there is evidence to the contrary, I am declaring this one to be female, and her name is Inara, because she is dark, exotic and beautiful. I am open to suggestions on what to rename her if she turns out to be a he.

She weighs 5.5 grams (about the same as Firefly) and is tamer than The Spook but not as tame as Firefly and Geico. So far. She ate a big glob of pulverized banana off my finger. I set up her cage, and hopefully by now she’s gone back to sleep.

I wonder if there’s a 12-step program for this sort of addiction?

