Archive for November 19th, 2004

Ow.

November 19, 2004

At our office, we get our birthdays off. So I hopped in the car, drove 75 miles north to San Jose, and went skating.

Being a cocky birthday girl, I was skating backwards, got away from my security-blanket railing, got distracted, lost my footing and went flat on my, um, well. Let’s just say my down-sitter doesn’t seem to have NEAR as much padding as one would have thought. Coming into full-weight abrupt contact with a giant ice cube proved it.

I did some warm-down stretches after I skated, but then drove the 75 miles back home (after a brief detour at my favorite used book store), and when I got out of the car, every single thing I own hurt.

As I said… ow. This getting old thing sure isn’t for wimps!

I used to ask, what did we do before there was Advil? Then I answered my own question: We were younger then, and we didn’t need it!

Yes, Ma’am

November 19, 2004

Ith hath spoken. I obey.

It’s a nice big mug from the Coffee Bean’s “Go Girl!” collection, given to me as a gift by my niece. Sadly, now empty. 😦