Archive for November 28th, 2004

Weekend Wrap-Up

November 28, 2004

DAG is still AWOL; expect he’s now on the way home from that “undisclosed location” where the family had Thanksgiving. He said he’d post something on the blog. He didn’t. He lied.

Had Thanksgiving dinner, such as it was, with my mother and sister. We had chicken pot pies from Marie Callendar, jello salad with pineapple in it, celery sticks, black olives, and brownies and ice cream for dessert. Very little cooking, and very little clean-up. Then, a cutthroat game of Trivial Pursuit, in which my sister was cleaning our clocks most of the way, but I finally pulled ahead and beat her on a lucky roll of the die.

Friday, avoided any and all retail establishments like the plague. Took the sick cassette deck in to the appliance hospital, where the nurse promised to take very good care of it. Then, went over and test-drove a new Lexus. I am now officially in lust. Come January, I do believe I will be driving a new car.

Saturday, went skating with Sara and Kathy, and that took up most of the day. By the time we drove up there, skated, drove further north so Sara could drop off Bruce’s raincoat (long story), and then stopped to eat on the way home, it was late enough that I went straight to bed with a book. We’re all looking forward to going skating in style come January… arriving in a Lexus. I only wiped out once on the rink, and that was because some little kid came to a dead stop right in front of me. I caught him and kept him on his feet but I went down hard on one knee, and have bruises to prove it.

Today? Did some work, read a book, took a nap, did some more work, read some more, did the dishes, and now am about ready to hit the shower.

What an exciting life, eh?