Archive for November 30th, 2004

I Should Start Saving These…

November 30, 2004

… for the humor value alone.

What, pray tell, am I contemplating saving?

Why, the “names” of the “people” from whom I receive spam, of course!

Today’s crop: Maturer E. Unobtainable, who tells me that “somebody” wants to see me, and Spindled G. Extemporizes, who wants to know about my good self.

But here’s what I truly do not understand. Who on earth is shtoopid enough to actually BUY “products” or “services” from these “people” (and I use all of those terms loosely)?

Oddly enough, Mr. Extemporizes appears to be selling nothing at all; his message is nothing but a bunch of odd little sayings and homilies, with no links or filthy graphics whatsoever. Mr. Unobtainable, however, offers to set me up with a lonely cheating housewife. If you believe it’s me she really wants to see, I have some ocean-front property in Nevada you might be interested in purchasing. Cheap.

UPDATE: My latest correspondent is Ride B. Victorian. A name like that almost begs for a caption contest in reverse, i.e. provide the picture for the caption. Any suggestions?

Lost In Translation

November 30, 2004

A Google translation of a page in German tells us that SCO’s server has been “chopped.” The item continues thus:

The Web server of the Unix company SCO was apparent verunstaltet by unknown quantity. On the entrance side a diagram with the text “incoming goods is own all your, pay US to code all your money”. The diagram fits itself in perfectly into the layout of the side.

A report on Neowin according to still further SCO sides were concerned. Neowin documents a Website, in which SCO under the title maintains “SCO vs world” allegedly, one SCO code in all Microsoft products would have found. As proof the side leads the code chips

while (1){ do_something; }

and

for (i = 0; i < 16; i++)

on. This side however apparent already again manufactured and documented now again the case "talk has v. SCO". Precariously it is correct that the manipulated diagram on the input is nevertheless still delivered. Whether possibly still further sides or service and files on the server were modified, is at present unknown; a statement of SCO is still pending.

I’m so glad they clarified all that.

Hat tip: John C.A. Bambenek